I am a Princess Now.

image1

Today I read the Day 2 story in my Short Story Advent Calendar. The story is called “The Princess Doctrine”. It’s an imaginative re-telling of the Sleeping Beauty story that is about meetings and royalty and bats and vipers. It’s mostly about vipers. I think that it is all a metaphor for 9/11 and the war in Iraq. Did I mention the vipers? They’re my favourite part.

Chris Bachelder is an extremely talented writer. This story has the kind of writing in it that is so smart and so funny that it makes me seriously question my choices in life to become a writer. This story reminds me of the Pirates! books. I laugh with gleeful abandon at these books.

I can’t wait to see what Day 3 brings. I’m going to try to wake up early and read the book with the rest of you early-risers. See you then.

JLN

Say what?

