It’s Time to Come Together

3192

So 2016 has been a pretty great year, right? Yep. I’m definitely not the first and I definitely won’t be the last person to say that this year has been one of the strangest times to be alive on earth. Until next year at least. So December is a big month for me. First of all, we’re almost done this gross year. Secondly, it’s the culmination of a couple projects I’ve been a part of and working on this year:

Monto Books is a new publishing imprint I started to showcase more Edmonton artists and Edmonton stories. The first book is a collection of comics from Chad Huculak’s End of the Earth series. It’s hilarious and if you live in Edmonton then you definitely need to check this book out.

Biblio Bison is a very cool new thing in Edmonton. The Royal Bison Art and Craft fair is such a great event that supports local makers and artists by giving them a venue to sell their products. This year a bunch of Edmonton publishers are all getting together to present the Biblio Bison. It’s a mini-reading room in the middle of all the craft fair chaos. A place where you can come and browse books from local authors and/or local publishers. This is a huge opportunity for independent publishers like myself to showcase our books in a big and unique way. We’re all going to work together to create an atmosphere that book lovers and people buying gifts for book lovers can’t ignore.

Last year I was fortunate enough to be a part of the Royal Bison and it was one of the most positive experiences of the whole year. If you are in Edmonton this weekend or next weekend (Dec 2-4 & 9-11) you should check it out. I will be selling End of the Earth as well as the 40 Below anthologies and maybe one of my own books or two. The Biblio Bison is going to be packed with great books. Please come visit.

The projects I am part of do not exist in a vacuum. If you like what I’m doing and would like to see me do more things like that then the best way to support those projects is to buy a book. Buy one as a gift or for yourself. A writer always needs readers. It would make my year if one of these projects could be a part of your Christmas shopping this year.

 

Say what?