Bros Before Prose

img_1875

So I’m going through a very interesting kind of writer’s block. Since November 8th I really have had no idea what the heck is going on in the world and I have not been entirely sure how myself or my writing fits into this new world that is quickly forming (or mutating) all around me. One thing that many people are saying these days is that art is needed now more than ever. Creating art and comedy and satire and doing anything artistic can be an act of resistance and rebellion towards the evil and indifference that is so prevalent in our society right now. In my heart I do believe this but my heart is very heavy right now and sometimes it’s hard to figure out what is the most important thing I can be doing right now while so many people are fighting for basic rights and dignities to be afforded to them.

It’s hard to write silly stories when you feel this way. I really want to write silly stories right now. I have a book of fake Yelp reviews that I would love to talk about. But the most important thing I want to do and have wanted to do for a very long time is be in a big room with lots of people that I know and respect and admire and read them some stories and make them smile and maybe think a little bit. I’d like to get together for a few beers and we can listen to stories and listen to some music and be together and have that togetherness be my act of resistance for the week. It may even be my act of service.

A few weeks ago I mentioned to my brother that we should do a show together. He’s a singer/songwriter and I’m a moron with a book who likes to talk. We should get our friends together and it will be a unique kind of show for music lovers and story lovers alike. That sounds like fun, right? It’s something that I’m really looking forward to. I hope that people come. It’s free and it’s on a Saturday night and it’s in a bar and that sounds like fun to me. I get to be the opening act for my brother! A dream come true.

I’m looking forward to seeing people I haven’t seen in awhile. I’m looking forward to seeing writer friends. Maybe we can chat about how to deal with this kind of writer’s block I’ve been having. Maybe this event will get everyone excited about literature and how writing stories is just what I should be doing right now.

I hope you will consider coming out this Saturday night if you’re in the area. I think it will be a fun thing to do. The Facebook event link is here if you’re interested.  Did I mention that it’s free? It’s free. Also this poster is pretty rad, no?

Say what?

